Phipps Conservatory Winter Flower Show and Lights

Alex and I braved the crowds to see the winter flower and light show at the Phipps last Saturday. It was definitely worth it. I highly recommend the Phipps Conservatory! It has the best collection I have ever seen! If you’re planning on visiting, keep in mind that the place fills up fast after dark!

I was so sad when I got to the Phipps and realized I forgot the memory card for my camera. However, these pictures I took with the iphone 4s aren’t too shabby.

Sorry I don’t have some of the cultivar and species names. I will definitely do better next time.

Enjoy!

image

image
Euphorbia hypericifolia, Euphorbia pulcherrima, Phalaenopsis amabilis, Adiantum capillus-venerus

 

 

image
Narcissus papyraceus, Codiaeum variegatum, Begonia x hiemalis – Reiger Begonia

 

image
Their model train bed is currently fairy tale themed! So freakin cute!
image
Parterre style garden

 

image
Jelly Palm – Butia capitata
image
Dramatic lighting of the Phalaenopsis collection

 

 

image
I was so excited to see the cultivar of Codiaeum variegatum in the back! And can you believe that the blue flowers in front are actually Solenostemon scutellaroides? They’re huge!! I loved the pale blue green color of the Hydrangea macrophylla!
Narcissus papyraceus, Begonia x hiemalis, Hedera helix,

 

 

image
Alex was surprised by how huge Crinum asiaticum Lilies are. I saw a lot of these during work at Disney!

 

 

image
Bird Nest Fern – Asplenium nidus, Bigleaf Hydrangea –  Hydrangea macrophylla

image

image

4 thoughts on “Phipps Conservatory Winter Flower Show and Lights

Leave a Reply

